Funk Wins DAG Post, Kimbrough Just Misses Landing Judgeship

Davidson County - Google MapsMixed bag for Davidson County progressives in Tuesday’s primary election, which featured a number of exceedingly close contests.

Glenn Funk won the Democratic primary for Davidson County district attorney general, according to unofficial results. Funk bested rivals Rob McGuire and Diane Lance, taking 43 percent of the vote.  Assuming the victory holds and given that he has no general election opposition, Funk will succeed outgoing DAG Torry Johnson.

In a close race that turned out to be a loss for Davidson County progressives, Criminal Court Judge Steve Dozier squeaked out a win over challenger Joy Smith Kimbrough by just 473 votes in the race for Criminal Court Judge Division 1.

In another close contest, Allegra Walker defeated Vince Wyatt by 976 votes in the General Sessions Division 4 race.

Lynda Jones beat Sheryl Guinn and five other candidates in the race for General Sessions Division 9; her margin over Guinn was a mere 117 votes.

In the five-candidate race for the judgeship in General Sessions Division 2, Melissa Blackburn took the prize and will go on to the August general.

Kelvin Jones was the victor in the race for Circuit Court Judge Division 8. It was a very clear win: He won with nearly 40 percent of the vote over Jon Peeler and incumbent Carol Soloman.

Rachel Bell defeated Blake Freeman by a more than two-to-one margin to keep her spot as General Sessions Judge Division 8.

Sheila Calloway solidly defeated progressive favorite Sophia Brown Crawford in the race for Juvenile Court judge, getting 62 percent of the vote.

Dianne Turner took 77 percent of the vote to lodge an easy win over Robb Bigelow in the General Sessions Division 5 race.

Add Your Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.